The supreme discipline of mountaineering

MMM Corones, situated on the summit plateau of Kronplatz (2275 m), is dedicated to the supreme discipline of mountaineering, which Reinhold Messner has strongly influenced. The museum is devoted to alpine history and offers unique views of the big walls of the Dolomites and the Alps. Temporary film shows.

MMM Corones on Kronplatz – between the Gader Valley, Olang and the Puster Valley – is the final act in the Messner Mountain Museum project (which comprises a total of six facilities). On the edge of South Tyrol’s mountain plateau with the most spectacular views, in the unique museum architecture created by Zaha Hadid, I present the crowning of traditional mountaineering.

Kronplatz offers views beyond the borders of South Tyrol to all points of the compass: from the Lienz Dolomites in the east to the Ortler in the west, from the Marmolada in the south to the Zillertal Alps in the north. The museum is a mirror of the world of my childhood - the Geislerspitzen, the central buttress of the Heiligkreuzkofel (the most difficult climb in my whole life) and the glaciated granite mountains of the Ahrn Valley. On Kronplatz I present the development of modern mountaineering and 250 years of progress with regard to the equipment. I speak of triumphs and tragedies on the world’s most famous peaks – the Matterhorn, Cerro Torre, K2 – and the depiction of our activity, however contradictory it may seem. As in my other museums, I shed light on alpinism with the help of relics, thoughts, works of art (pictures and sculptures) and by reflecting the outside mountain backcloth in the interior of MMM Corones.

As the storyteller of traditional mountaineering, it is not my intention to judge or dramatise but simply to condense human experience of a world that is my world, of the 250-year-old contest between man and the mountain. The focus is not on sport and records but on people, on the key contributors to mountaineering, including philosophers and pioneers who had the courage to take the ‘golden step’ from the idea to the deed, disregarding the question “Why?”

“Corones” is the Ladin word for “crown”, like “Krone” in German. And Kronplatz – South Tyrol’s famous mountain for skiers and hikers and a perfect launchpad for hanggliders and paragliders – is now home to the crowning piece of my mountain museum project, a place of quiet where people can slow down and enjoy unforgettable views. It is a place of withdrawal that opens up the human senses for the above and beyond, where the mountains become an experiential space and a part of our culture. In mental flights beyond all summits, they are revealed anew.Reinhold Messner

Die Königsdisziplin des Bergsteigens

Im MMM Corones, auf dem Gipfelplateau des Kronplatzes auf 2275 Metern Höhe gelegen, geht es um den traditionellen Alpinismus, der und den Reinhold Messner entscheidend geprägt hat. Hier wird Alpingeschichte erzählt sowie der einmalige Blick auf die großen Wände der Dolomiten und Alpen in die Ausstellung miteinbezogen. Jährlich wechselnde Filmvorführungen.

Mit dem MMM Corones auf dem Kronplatz – zwischen Gadertal, Olang und Pustertal gelegen – ist das Projekt Messner Mountain Museum (das insgesamt sechs Häuser umfasst) abgeschlossen. Am Rande des großartigsten Aussichtsplateaus Südtirols, im unverwechselbaren Museumsbau von Zaha Hadid, erzähle ich zum Abschluss vom traditionellen Alpinismus.

Am Kronplatz geht der Blick in alle vier Himmelsrichtungen über die Landesgrenzen hinaus: von den Lienzer Dolomiten im Osten bis zum Ortler im Westen, von der Marmolada im Süden bis zu den Zillertalern im Norden. Im Museum spiegeln sich die Welt meiner Kindheit – die Geislerspitzen; der Mittelpfeiler am Heiligkreuzkofel – die schwierigste Kletterei meines Lebens – und die vergletscherten Granitberge über dem Ahrntal. Im Berg erzähle ich von der Entwicklung des modernen Bergsteigens, von der Ausrüstung, wie sie sich im Laufe von 250 Jahren verbessert hat, von Triumphen und Tragödien an den berühmtesten Bergen der Welt – Matterhorn, Cerro Torre, K2 – und der Darstellung unseres Tuns, so widersprüchlich es auch erscheinen mag. Wie in den anderen Museen beleuchte ich den Alpinismus mithilfe von Reliquien, Sätzen, Kunstwerken (Bildern und Plastiken) sowie der Spiegelung der äußeren Bergkulisse ins Innere des MMM Corones.

Als der Storyteller zum traditionellen Alpinismus will ich weder werten noch dramatisieren, es geht mir um das Verdichten von Erfahrungen, um eine Sache, die auch meine Sache ist, die 250 Jahre währende Auseinandersetzung zwischen Berg und Mensch. Nicht Sport und Rekorde stehen im Mittelpunkt sondern die großen Persönlichkeiten des Alpinismus, auch Philosophen, Pioniere, die den „goldenen Schritt“ wagen – von der Idee zur Tat, wenn die Frage nach dem Warum aufgehoben ist.

Aus dem Ladinischen übersetzt bedeutet Corones „die Krone“. Der Kronplatz – der berühmte Ski- und Wanderberg, der Gipfel der Drachen- und Gleitschirmflieger – beherbergt nun das Highlight meiner Bergmuseen: Einen Ort der Stille, der Entschleunigung und unvergessener Ausblicke. Dieser Rückzugsraum öffnet alle menschlichen Sinne für das Darüber und Dahinter. Die Berge werden zum Erfahrungsraum, Teil unserer Kultur. Im Geistesflug über alle Gipfel hinweg gilt es sie neu wahrzunehmen.Reinhold Messner