Museum

The heritage of the Mountain: permanent exhibition

the mountain peoples

MMM Ripa is part of a six-centered encounter with the mountains. Reinhold Messner has chosen Bruneck Castle, once the summer residence of the prince bishops, to present mountain peoples from Asia, Africa, South America and Europe, and to reflect on their cultures, religions and tourism activities. The mountain culture is reflected in the daily lives of their inhabitants, who impart life and history to the mountains of the world. This heritage of the mountains, which has ensured survival over the millennia for the people living high up on the brink of life, can now be appreciated at MMM Ripa – with the help of their dwellings, videos and encounters.
Bruneck Castle, which stands on a hill on the south side of the town of the same name in the Puster Valley in South Tyrol, has been chosen by Reinhold Messner to accommodate the last of his five centers of encounter with the mountains, which is dedicated to the people who live there. Surrounded by mountain farms and offering views of the popular Kronplatz skiing and walking area, the rural scenery of the Ahrn Valley and the mighty Zillertal Alps, it is the ideal location for MMM Ripa (in Tibetan: ri=mountain, pa=man).

It is the people in the mountains who give them life and a history.Reinhold Messner

Bruneck Castle: history & restoration

Castrum Bruneke

Bruneck Castle was built in 1250 by Bruno von Kirchberg, Prince Bishop of Brixen, and first called Castrum Bruneke in a historical document dated 1271. From the second half of the 13th century, the town of Bruneck grew at the foot of the hill occupied by the castle. Under Prince Bishop Albert von Enn, major additions were made to the castle and the fortifications, namely four gates, the city walls and the moat. Further striking changes were made by Prince Bishop Ulrich Putsch, who enlarged the living quarters, increased the height of the keep and added a pointed roof. The castle suffered severe damage in 1460 when it was besieged by Duke Sigmund (lord of Sigmundskron Castle, today’s MMM Firmian) in pursuit of Cardinal Nicolas Cusanus, who had sought sanctuary there. Under Cusanus’ successor, Bishop Georg Golser, the fortifications were repaired and further strengthened out of fear of the Turks.
In 1825 the premises were let to Bruneck municipality and used as a barracks and jail, but the castle fell increasingly into decay until extensive restoration work was carried out under Prince Bishop Simon Aichner. From 1969, various halls and rooms of the castle were used as classrooms. In 2004 the Südtiroler Sparkasse Foundation bought the medieval building for use by Bruneck city council and Reinhold Messner.

Restoration

Bruneck Castle reflects the periods in which alterations and additions were made in a variety of styles. Gothic vaulting, and Renaissance and Baroque rooms and decorative painting in the courtyard are still preserved today. In 2009-2011, the castle was refurbished for use as a museum by the Puster Valley architects Kurt Egger, Gerhard Mahlknecht and Heinrich Mutschlechner of EM2. They took account of the various periods of construction and created additional exhibition space in the form of an underground extension beneath the bailey (along the western perimeter wall). For the additional structures, modern materials like glass and steel, and a light gray stain for the wood, were used to make them stand out against the historical fabric of the castle.

Museum

Das Erbe der Berge: Daueraustellung

Bergvölker aller Welt

Das MMM Ripa auf Schloss Bruneck, einst Sommersitz der Fürstbischöfe, ist den Bergvölkern aus aller Wellt – Asien, Afrika, Südamerika und Europa – sowie ihrer Kultur, ihrer Religion und dem Tourismus gewidmet. Da sich die Bergkultur besonders im Alltag der Bergbewohner spiegelt, wird das „Erbe der Berge“, das seit Jahrtausenden das Überleben hoch oben in den Bergen sichert, den Museumsbesuchern anhand von Wohnstätten, Filmen und Begegnungen näher gebracht.
Der moderne Alpinismus ist 250 Jahre alt. Seit mehr als 10.000 Jahren aber leben Menschen im Gebirge. Zuerst als Jäger, dann als Wanderhirten und bis heute als Acker- und Viehbauern. Sie haben zwischen Talböden und Sommerweiden ihre jeweilige Bergkultur entwickelt, die im Gegensatz zur Stadtkultur auf Eigenverantwortung, Konsumverzicht und Nachbarschaftshilfe aufbaut. Dieser Lebensweise – von Ort zu Ort verschieden und doch ähnlich – widmet Reinhold Messner sein Museum im Südtiroler Pustertal. Umgeben von Bergbauernhöfen, mit Blick auf den touristisch erfolgreichen Kronplatz, das bäuerliche Ahrntal und die Zillertaler Alpen ist es der ideale Standort für das MMM Ripa (Tibetisch: ri = Berg; pa = Mensch).

Die Menschen in den Bergen geben den Gebirgen erst Leben und Geschichte. Reinhold Messner

Schloss Bruneck: Historie & Burgsanierung

Castrum Bruneke

Schloss Bruneck wird im Jahr 1250 vom Brixner Fürstbischof Bruno von Kirchberg erbaut und 1271 erstmals als „Castrum Bruneke“ genannt. Ab der zweiten Hälfte des 13. Jahrhunderts entsteht am Fuße des Schlossbergs die Stadt Bruneck. Unter Fürstbischof Albert von Enn werden Schloss und Befestigungsanlagen stark ausgebaut; vier Stadttore, die Stadtmauer und der Graben entstehen in dieser Zeit. Weitere prägende Umbauarbeiten erfolgen unter Fürstbischof Ulrich Putsch, der den Wohntrakt vergrößern und den Bergfried aufstocken sowie mit einem Spitzdach versehen lässt. Beträchtliche Schäden trägt das Schloss allerdings 1460 davon, als es von Herzog Sigmund (Herr von Schloss Sigmundskron, heute MMM Firmian) belagert wird, da sich Kardinal Nikolaus Cusanus darin verschanzte. Unter Bischof Georg Golser, dem Nachfolger von Cusanus, wird die Befestigungsanlage nicht nur saniert, sondern aus Angst vor den Türken ein weiteres Mal ausgebaut
1825 pachtet die Stadt das Schloss, das als Kaserne und Gerichtsgefängnis dient, jedoch zusehends verfällt – bis Fürstbischof Simon Aichner die Burg gründlich saniert. Ab 1969 werden die Räumlichkeiten der Burg als Klassenzimmern genutzt. Im Jahr 2004 kauft die Stiftung Südtiroler Sparkasse den mittelalterlichen Bau und überlässt die Nutzung der Stadtgemeinde Bruneck bzw. Reinhold Messner.

Burgsanierung

Das Schloss selbst liefert noch heute Zeugnisse verschiedener Um- und Zubauten aus unterschiedlichen Stilepochen: gotische Gewölbe, Räume aus Renaissance und Barock sowie Dekorationsmalereien im Innenhof sind erhalten geblieben. Saniert und mit architektonischen Ergänzungen als Museum adaptiert wurde es in den Jahren 2009 bis 2011 von der Pustertaler Architektengemeinschaft EM2 – von Kurt Egger, Gerhard Mahlknecht und Heinrich Mutschlechner. Sie berücksichtigten dabei alle Bauzeiten und schufen durch die Erweiterung des Untergeschosses des Zwingers (entlang der westlichen Umfassungsmauer) zusätzlichen Ausstellungsraum. Die notwendigen Zubauten setzen sich auch hier bewusst von den historischen Gemäuern ab, indem sie in hellgrau gebeiztem Holz oder modernen Materialien wie Glas und Stahl ausgeführt worden sind.